Adding (or removing) the discussion forum is straight forward. Before adding the discussion forum for the first time, you should read our summary of things to think about before you add a discussion forum, the moderation guidelines and the checklist.

 

To add a discussion forum

  • Go to your site admin page.
  • Click on the content management tab and then applications.
  • Click the enable button next to discussions in the list.

The discussion forum will be immediately available on your site. It will appear in your site's navigation menu (you can change its position in the menu or rename it if you want to).

If this is the first time that you have added the discussion forum to your website it will be empty so your next step should be to add a new discussion to it. 

If you are restoring the forum to your site (because you removed it previously), it will contain the discussions and messages from when you last used it.

 

To remove a discussion forum

  • Go to your site admin page.
  • Click on the content management tab and then applications.
  • Click the disable button next to discussions in the list.

The discussion forum will be removed from your site immediately and will no longer appear in your site's navigation menu.

Although the forum is removed from your site, the contents are not deleted. If you decide to add it back on your site at a later date, all of the discussions and messages will still be intact.